Self harm

I have a HUGE history with self harm. This behavior began probably around age 11 and lasted through my late 20’s until I was able to name it for what it was and work on stopping it. I usually justified that it didn’t count as self harm because I wasn’t leaving any physical marks on my body.

I discovered this list the other day and without a doubt I have participated in most of the behaviors on this list at one time or another and couldnt recognize at the time that these were indeed self harming behaviors. I am glad they are being recognized as such because it will bring more awareness to others who are struggling with them as I did for many years. 

While I am not actively self harming now, I am also glad I can refer to this list and check myself if I start slipping back to that place.

15 self harming behaviors

Leave a comment